← Back to ,

International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE)
Kaija Saariaho

Thu, Nov 19, 2009, 7:30–7:30 pm


Thursday, November 19, 7:30 pm

Tickets $25, MCA members $20, Students $10
(student tickets are subject to availability)

Listeners experience her music as an overwhelming primal event, a mystical encounter providing glimpses of a deeper reality.  – MusicianGuide.com

One of the most adventurous and ascendant new music groups today, ICE returns to the MCA with Kaija Saariaho, a composer of immense imagination. This concert dedicated to her chamber music is a rare opportunity to experience the luminous color and emotional depth of Saariaho’s spellbinding music in the intimate setting of the MCA Stage. Born in Finland and based in Paris since studying at the IRCAM research institute, Saariaho received the 2008 Nemmers Composition Prize from Northwestern University School of Music. She will be present at this landmark event of the fall concert season.

Terrestre (2002) for flute, harp, percussion, violin and cello  (10 min)
Six Japanese Gardens (1994) for percussion with electronics  (18 min)
Lichtbogen (1986) for flute, percussion, harp, piano and strings with  (17min)
Solar (1992) for chamber orchestra with electronics (17 min)

Listen to ICE performance podcast



Program Notes

About the Artist
[ICE is] a powerhouse of new-music programming on a Chicago-New York axis…brilliant and unexpected.  – The New Yorker

Bringing together new music and new audiences through innovative programming, inter-disciplinary collaborations, commissions by young composers, and performances in nontraditional venues, the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) has rapidly established itself as one of the leading new-music ensembles of its generation. Described recently in the New York Times as “one of the most adventurous and accomplished groups in new music,” ICE is a uniquely structured chamber music ensemble comprised of thirty dynamic and versatile young performers who are dedicated to advancing the music of our time. A champion of music by emerging composers, ICE has given over 400 world premieres to date. In 2004, ICE launched the 21st Century Young Composers Project, a worldwide call-for-entries by composers under the age of 35, which has culminated in the world premieres of works by young composers in 27 different countries. MCA first presented ICE in June 2009 with guest conductor and percussionist Steven Schick, featuring a stunning program of works by Iannis Xenakis.

More info about ICE
More info about Kaija Saariaho


This performance is generously supported by Lester S. Abelson Foundation, Katherine Abelson and Robert Cornell.