← Back to ,

ICE (International Contemporary Ensemble)
George Lewis and Friends on the MCA Stage

Sun, Feb 5, 2012, 3–3 pm


ICE with Steve Lehman. Photo by Meerkat Media

“Crackling virtuosity … their music grabs the listener by the lapels and refuses to let go.”
— Chicago Tribune

Trombonist and composer George Lewis’ recent book, A Power Stronger than Itself, traces the personal history of the performers and composers that formed the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians, a group whose experimental legacy is vital more than 40 years after its inception. ICE presents a concert featuring music by George Lewis, whose own accomplishments put him at the frontier of experimentation in jazz, improvised music, computer music research, and trombone performance, alongside works of a younger generation of composers who have been influenced and shaped by Lewis’ pioneering efforts.


  • George Lewis: Artificial Life 2007 (2007) for ensemble (15 mins)
  • Steve Lehman: Impossible Flow (2010, rev 2011; ICElab commission) for ensemble (17 mins)
  • Nicole Mitchell: New work (2012) for two flutes and percussion (7 mins)
  • (Pause for brief composers conversation)
  • Tyshawn Sorey: Ode to Gust Burns (2012; ICElab commission) for bassoon, piano, percussion, guitar and trombone (6 mins)
  • George Lewis: Will to Adorn (2011, rev 2012) for ensemble (14 mins)


Program Notes

More information about ICE


Support for this project is generously provided by Katherine A. Abelson and Robert J. Cornell, the National Endowment for the Arts, and The Amphion Foundation, Inc.