← Back to ,

Hubbard Street Dance Chicago
Princess Grace Awards: New Works

Dec 4–14, 2014

Copresented with Hubbard Street

Three dance visionaries show us the shape of dance to come in new works specially made for Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, which makes its eagerly awaited return to the MCA’s intimate Edlis Neeson Theater. The special project forefronts the shared commitment with MCA Stage to bolstering innovation by ascending dance artists. Three North American treasures in contemporary dance, all recipients of the prestigious Princess Grace Award, share their bright, distinctive styles, which are shaping the dance of today and tomorrow.

The three artists developed their works with the phenomenal Hubbard Street before these world premieres at MCA Stage.

Counterpoint by Kyle Abraham

Originally intended to be created in collaboration with Chicago footwork pioneer DJ Rashad, MacArthur Fellow Kyle Abraham’s first work for Hubbard Street became one “of isolation and abrupt uncertainties.” “After news of the composer’s sudden passing earlier this year,” he says, “I chose to draw upon deviations of circumstance as layered metaphors for all things unforeseen.” Highlighting the articulate and facile qualities of Hubbard Street’s dancers, Counterpoint is set to “Tu Non Mi Perderai Mai” by Icelandic composer Jóhann Jóhannsson, juxtaposed with Brahms’s First Piano Concerto as played brilliantly by Artur Rubinstein in 1954, with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Fritz Reiner conducting. Counterpoint by Kyle Abraham is a 2014 Chicago Dancing Festival Commission.

<em>Enter Woven by Victor Quijada

Founder and artistic director of Montréal’s genre-defying RUBBERBANDance Group, Victor Quijada’s work eloquently deconstructs, reimagines, and applies choreographic principles to hip-hop ideologies. His second creation with Hubbard Street’s dancers features an original score by Jasper “Lil’ Jaz” Gahunia. Further details will be announced in fall 2014.

New Work by Robyn Mineko Williams

The choreography of Robyn Mineko Williams uses “a body’s store of moves—a Michael Jackson thrust, a Flashdance swoon—to inject the present with the texture of memory,” says Appollinaire Scherr, dance critic for the Financial Times. Her fourth original work for Hubbard Street—of which she was a member for twelve seasons—reunites Williams with creative collaborators Hogan McLaughlin, acclaimed fashion designer, and composer Robert F. Haynes. Further details will be announced in fall 2014.

Running time: 120 minutes, with 2 intermissions

About the Artists

Kyle Abraham, who was named a MacArthur Fellow in 2013, creates unique hybrids of traditional and vernacular dance styles. He earned a BFA at the State University of New York at Purchase and an MFA from New York University. His choreographic works have been performed by many dance companies, including his own, Kyle Abraham/Abraham.in.Motion, which made its MCA Stage debut in 2013 with The Radio Show.

Born in Los Angeles, Victor Quijada was influenced by hip-hop culture from an early age. He premiered six Twyla Tharp creations as a member of THARP! and performed with Eliot Field’s company, Ballet Tech. In 2002, Quijada formed RUBBERBANDance Group. He has created work for companies including Atlanta Ballet and Pacific Northwest Ballet.

In 2000, Robyn Mineko Williams joined Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, where she remained a company member for 12 years. She has created several works for Hubbard Street, including a world premiere for its main company, which was performed at venues including the John F. Kennedy Center. She also has created for Chicago’s Same Planet Different World.

Since its founding in 1977, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago has grown to be recognized as a leader in the creation and development of new choreography, unique collaborations, and innovative production concepts. Hubbard Street has a long history of national and international touring, performing in up to 30 venues each year.

Learn more about Hubbard Street here.


Generous support for dance works at MCA Stage is provided by David Herro and Jay Franke.